14.08.2017 - US PGA Championship, Quail Hollow Club, North Carolina, Finalreport. Erstes Major für Justin Thomas

Was für ein Drama, was für ein Finale. Justin Thomas ging am Ende als glücklicher Sieger des letzten Major-Turnier des Jahres 2017 vom Platz. Lange Zeit spielten ein halbes Dutzend Spieler um den begehrten Titel, am Ende setzte sich der 24 Jahre junge Amerikaner mit zwei Schlägen Vorsprung durch.


American Justin Thomas was certainly a crowd favourite at Quail Hollow Club. © GettyImages

Justin Thomas claimed a maiden Major Championship as the American soared to a two-stroke victory at the US PGA Championship in a thrilling final day, during which Francesco Molinari and Patrick Reed both made charges towards the title before finishing tied for second alongside Louis Oosthuizen. Justin Thomas was certainly a crowd favourite at Quail Hollow Club and he undoubtedly provided the most memorable moments in a finale which was set alight when his birdie putt at the ninth hole sat on the cup for eight seconds before falling to rapturous roars from the galleries. That took the 24 year old to the turn in one under before he followed that drama immediately with a second successive birdie at the tenth. The momentum was with the Kentucky player at that stage as the crowds descended on the penultimate group of which he was a part, and two more birdies at the 13th and 17th lifted him three shots clear heading down the last. After finding a fairway bunker with his final tee shot, Thomas’s nerveless approach left him with four putts to win and a bogey five rounded off a memorable three under final round 68 for an eight under total. “It was something that obviously as a kid growing up, being a golf fan, you want to win all the majors. You want to win any major. For me, the PGA Championship definitely had a special place in my heart, and maybe a special drive, I guess you could say. Like I said, I want to win every tournament I play in. I want to try to win every major.

Francesco Molinari, meanwhile, put himself in the mix with a stunning 67 which began with a flawless two under par front nine before the Italian followed a disappointing bogey at the par five tenth with four birdies in five holes. Another dropped shot at the 16th, however, put paid to his chances. “I had to look at the leaderboard on 13, and where I was at more or less, I saw that I needed at least two more birdies. Seven or eight under was looking likely to be the winning score. So I gave it my best and I'm very happy with what I did." His fellow European Tour Member Patrick Reed joined him in second place soon after, the American carding four birdies in six holes early on for a two under front nine before picking up a shot each at the tenth, 14th and 15th to move within reach, before a bogey at the last for a 67 and a six under total. Louis Oosthuizen holed a huge putt at the last to join them in a share of the runner-up spot. Jordan Smith’s incredible rise through the ranks reached heady new heights as the Englishman finished with a 68 to claim a top ten on his Major debut.

Final Scores

276 Justin Thomas 
278 Francesco Molinari; Louis Oosthuizen; Patrick Reed
279 Rickie Fowler; Hideki Matsuyama 
280 Graham DeLaet; Kevin Kisner 
283 Jason Day; Matt Kuchar; Jordan Smith; Chris Stroud 
284 Scott Brown; Paul Casey; James Hahn; Brian Harman; Dustin Johnson; Brooks Koepka; Marc Leishman; Ryan Moore; Henrik Stenson 
285 Rory McIlroy; Grayson Murray; Ian Poulter; Chez Reavie; Robert Streb; Gary Woodland 
286 Byeong Hun An; J.B. Holmes; Pat Perez; Jordan Spieth; Richard Sterne
287 Keegan Bradley; Patrick Cantlay; Bud Cauley; Kevin Chappell; Bryson DeChambeau; Lucas Glover; Jason Kokrak; Jamie Lovemark; Sean O'Hair; Webb Simpson; Chris Wood
288 Tony Finau; Jim Herman; Sung Kang; Thorbjørn Olesen
289 Charley Hoffman; Billy Horschel; Zach Johnson; Satoshi Kodaira; Shane Lowry; Charl Schwartzel 
290 Ryan Fox; Bill Haas; D.A. Points; Steve Stricker 
291 Jason Dufner; Kelly Kraft; Jon Rahm 
292 Tommy Fleetwood; Adam Scott 
293 Dylan Frittelli; Cody Gribble; David Lingmerth 
294 Vijay Singh 
295 K.T. Kim; Alex Noren; Hideto Tanihara; Lee Westwood
296 Russell Henley; Daniel Summerhays 
297Charles Howell III; Omar Uresti 
299 Anirban Lahiri